TKR bowled out for 94 runs, second lowest in CPL finals history

Published by
Anglina Byron

Caribbean: Trinbago Knight Riders bowled out for 94 runs in the final match of the Caribbean Premier League 2023. The team has made the second lowest score in the history of the finals of CPL.

Trinbago Knight Riders lost the CPL 2023 trophy from Guyana Amazon Warriors who defeated them by nine wickets. Four-time winners of the tournament, TKR became the team who set the record for making second lowest score in the finals.

Guyana Amazon Warriors won the toss and decided to bowl first. Trinbago Knight Riders set the target of 94 runs as bowlers of the GAW knocked them out and sent back to the pavilion in less time. The final match was held on Sunday (September 24, 2023) at the stadium of Guyana.

While chasing the target, Guyana Amazon Warriors captured the title of the CPL 2023 for the first time in their team history. The team chased the target in no time with one wicket down. It made 99 runs in 14 overs.

Shai Hope of Guyana Amazon Warriors captured the title of player of the tournament, while Dwaine Pretorius became the player of the match. He took four wickets in four overs. Keacy Carty made 38 while Pretorius had 4-26. Two wickets were taken each from the magicians Tahir and Motie.

Mark Deyal of Trinbago Knight Riders made 16 runs in nine overs, while Gudekesh Motie of Guyana Amazon Warriors has 2 wickets at 7 runs. Chadwick Walton made 10 runs in 11 overs while Imran Tahir of Guyana took two wickets.

Additionally, Saim Ayub hit the half-century and made 52 runs in 41 balls, while Akeal Hosein of TKR took one wicket at 21 runs. After that Shai Hope of GAW made 32 runs in 32 balls, while Sunil Narine of TKR has 0 wicket at 10 runs.

Keemo Paul- one of other players who came on to the pitch and dragged the match to its finishing phase. He made 11 runs in 11 balls, while Andre Russel of TKR has 0 wicket at 12 runs.

CPL Summary

Caribbean Premier League 2023 started on August 17, 2023 in which six teams have participated. The games of the tournament were held at different venues of the Caribbean region including Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, Trinidad and Tobago, and Guyana.

Guyana Amazon Warriors stood at the first position in the points tally with highest victories. Trinbago Knight Riders managed to take good hold in the points tally as it stood at the second position. Both the team qualified for the playoff matches, but GAW lost the match of qualifier 1.

It had returned to the game after winning the qualifier 2. Trinbago Knight Riders advanced to the finals after winning the first play off match.

Guyana celebrated its success with dance, music and fun. The team lifted the trophy in its home ground.

Recent Posts

SKELEC announces its Platinum Sponsorship for Sugar Mas 52

St Kitts Electricity Company Limited has announced its Platinum Sponsorship for Sugar Mas 52 with…

1 hour ago

PM Roosevelt Skerrit extends condolences over demise of Dr Carissa F Etienne

Prime Minister Dr Roosevelt Skerrit extended condolences on the sudden demise of Dr Carissa F…

3 hours ago

Saint Lucia participates in Legender Drag Race 2023

Saint Lucia team has participated in the latest edition of Legender Drag Race 2023. It…

17 hours ago

St Kitts welcomes Silver Nova cruise ship at Port Zante

St Kitts and Nevis: St Kitts welcomed the cruise ship Silver Nova on Thursday at…

18 hours ago

Bahamas Aids foundation hosts the Candlelight Vigil 2023

The Bahamas Aids foundation hosted the Candlelight Vigil 2023 on Thursday,30th November 2023 at the…

18 hours ago

St Kitts and Nevis: Rock the Runway to feature local fashion designers

Rock the Runway is all set to take place in St Kitts and Nevis on…

20 hours ago