Haiti to establish ‘Transition Government’ till presidential elections

Haiti to establish 'Transition Government' till presidential elections
Haiti to establish 'Transition Government' till presidential elections

The main political parties had reached an agreement for the transition government till the presidential election would not be contested and the constitutional referendum next year. This decision has been taken by the council of ministry under the leadership of Prime Minister Ariel Henry.

PM Henry said, “I have the assurance that this agreement will make it possible to conduct the affairs of the State during the interim period as short as possible, in order to achieve our main common objective, which is a return to the normal functioning of our democratic institutions on new bases, in a secure and stable environment.”

This agreement for peaceful and effective good governance was signed by Henry, who was leading the ministry council since President Jovenel Moise’s assassination on past July 7.

As the PM Henry was called for questioning in the cases related to the assassination of President Moise after receiving the notice, PM Henry said that he would never be stopped by any means towards completing his mission. The real culprits would be arrested very soon.

The spokesman for the opposition grouping known as “Democratic and Popular Sector”, Andre Michel, who is also the representative of political groups such as Edmonde Supplice de la Fusion, Saurel Yacinthe from INITE, was also involved in signing the agreement.

Michel said, “It was not an easy decision… But we understood that the time has come to build this country on a consensual basis of dialogue permanent. If this agreement did not contain the demands of the population, the democratic and popular sector would not sign.”

The Commission for the Search for a Solution to the Haitian Crisis (CRSHC) said that the course has been now set on the creation of a monitoring office composed of 21 members comprising 13 from the CRSHC, 3 representatives would be from civil society, three representatives of political parties and two members from the popular sector.